Accessibility Tools

Sumner County school's logo

Sumner County school's logo
Sumner County Schools


Sumner County Schools Continues to Lead the Mid-State in STEM/STEAM Designations

The Tennessee Department of Education, in conjunction with the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network, announced that Liberty Creek Elementary has received Tennessee STEAM School Designation. In addition, Union Elementary, Jack Anderson Elementary, Oakmont Elementary, and Dr. William Burrus Elementary completed all requirements necessary to receive Re-Designation for the next five years.

The STEM / STEAM honor recognizes schools for their commitment to promoting and integrating science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics learning for all students that ultimately prepares them for post-secondary college and career success in the 21st century. Once schools have reached five years of implementing and sustaining STEM/STEAM education through the designation process, schools can complete a re-designation cycle.

"We want students to use real-world lessons, curiosity and creativity to help navigate the ever-evolving landscape of tomorrow's opportunities. We are preparing students for careers that haven't even been invented yet," Sumner County Schools Career and Technical Education and STEM Supervisor, Chase Moore said. "Receiving STEM Designation is the result of hard work and devoted teachers, ensuring that every child is Sumner Ready for whatever the future holds."

Since the designation program launched in 2018, 127 schools have earned the Tennessee STEM / STEAM Designation, which the department developed in partnership with the STEM Leadership Council to provide a “roadmap” for schools to successfully implement a STEM and/or STEAM education plan at the local level. Schools that receive this honor also serve as models to inspire and teach others. All K-12 public and private schools serving students in Tennessee are eligible.

Of the 127 designated schools across the state, 13 are home to Sumner County Schools. They include Jack Anderson Elementary, Beech Elementary, Union Elementary, Station Camp Elementary, Oakmont Elementary, Dr. William Burrus Elementary, Indian Lake Elementary, Portland East Middle, Portland Gateview Elementary, Howard Elementary, Millersville Elementary, White House High School and Liberty Creek Elementary.

Each school that received the Tennessee STEM/STEAM School Designation underwent a rigorous application process, including completing a self-evaluation, participating in interviews, and hosting site visits with the Tennessee STEM/STEAM Designation review team. The designation rubric included five focus areas: infrastructure, curriculum and instruction, professional development, achievement, and community and postsecondary partnerships. As a part of the process, schools were also required to submit a plan of action for implementing and sustaining STEM and/or STEAM education for the next five years.

“These designations are testaments to the state’s commitment to educational excellence and preparing students for their futures,” said Lizzette Reynolds, Commissioner of Education. “We commend these schools for prioritizing math and science education, ensuring that Tennessee students are prepared for the jobs of today and tomorrow."

STEM/STEAM education is an interdisciplinary curriculum in which activities in one class complement those in other classes. It also offers teaching and learning opportunities focused on inquiry, technology, and project-based learning activities and lessons connected to the real world. #SumnerReady #SumnerAchieves #SumnerCountyStrong #SumnerSTEM #STEM #STEAMEducation

The Sumner Connect site is the technology information and training hub to support Sumner County educators, students, and parents.